The Learning Management System (LMS) is one of the most important components of our scholastic chess solution. Teachers who have not purchased any student licenses yet can also access the LMS functions in demo mode, to enable them to gain a better understanding of the program.
Teachers who own student licenses receive “Admin rights”. They can add new groups, students (without the need for an email address or other personal identification) and teachers with standard access to the groups. Teachers assigned to a group with standard access can follow the progress of the students in their group, but cannot modify the data (e.g. delete student).
At your very first access to the LMS (by clicking on Learning Management at the “Hi, Nickname” dropdown menu after login) you must select a Unique Teacher Identifier. This ID will be the second part of your students’ username, which students will use at login. Username example: JohnS@YOURID
After you successfully submitted your Unique Teacher Identifier, the second step is to add groups with the Add Group function in the Group Management menu. Following that you can add students one-by-one to the groups or you can also import more students at the same time from a text or excel file in the Import Students function. Finally you can add other teachers to the groups. (If you are the only teacher in your groups then you do not need to add other teachers, as you receive access to all features with your admin access.)
Learning Management (Student Overview)
LMS can be accessed by logging in, then clicking on your name in the right upper corner (Hi, Nickname) and choosing the Learning Management menu item from the drop down menu.
The Student Overview is the most important summary page about your students’ progress. If you hover the cursor over the column names, you will see the description of each column.
If you click on a student’s name you can modify your student’s data. You can sort this table by any category by clicking on the arrows on the header.
The percentage values in the first three columns (Level 1, Level 2, Level 3) show your student’s progress in the given course. On the next screen you can see the progress lesson by lesson. By clicking on the down arrow at the end of the lesson title you can see the time used, the percentage of the wrong answers, hint usage and solution requests.
You can look at your student’s games by clicking on the number in the Games column. After Loading the selected game the teacher can replay and analyze it.
Add Group / Modify Group Name / Delete Group
This function can be accessed in the Manage Group menu. In the LMS students are assigned to groups. This is why you have to add a group before you can add any students. You can add a group by simply giving it a name. You can modify the group name anytime, and you can also delete the groups that do not contain any students. So, if you want to delete a group, please delete all students from it first.
Add Teacher / Remove Teacher
This function can be accessed in the Manage Group menu. It is possible to add more than one teacher with Standard access to a group. Teachers with Standard access can look at the students’ progress and solution data, but they cannot modify the data. You can add or remove a teacher anytime by providing an e-mail address.
Add a Student / Import Students
After adding groups and teachers to the LMS you can add students to the groups. This function can be accessed from the Overview page by clicking on the Add Students button. The login data of your student (username, password) will also be created here. Important: Your students’ username will have the following structure: Name@YOURID YOURID was given at the very first use of LMS, so you do not have to add it again. We recommend that you combine the first name with the first letter of the last name (e.g. JohnS&YOURID) to create the first part of the user name, but there are no restrictions.
Add a Student: You can add students one-by-one with the Add a Student function. You have to select the group and license you would like to use then you have to create the username (@YOURID will already show on the screen) and the password. The first name, last name, gender and birth date are all optional.
Import Students: You can add more students at the same time with the Import Students function. You have to select the group and license you would like to use then you can copy paste the students’ data into the window in the given order row-by-row. Please use Tab delimiter to separate columns. You can also copy from a text file containing Enters and Tab delimiters or from an excel file, too. Only the Username (without @YOURID) and the password is necessary, the first name, last name, gender and birth date are all optional. The gender can be set as Male or Female, or it can be left empty. Please import the birth date in three separate tabulated columns, in DD MM YYYY format.
Modify Student / Delete Student / Extend License
By clicking on a student’s name in the first column you can access the above functions. You can modify all student data by clicking on the Modify Student button. You can also renew the student’s password by using this function.
You can delete a student from the system by using the Delete Student function. After a successful deletion a license will be added to your available licenses. Deleting is only possible when the student did not start any lesson yet. You can delete a student later in the Delete Expired function too, however in this case the license won’t be added.
You can Extend the student’s access period to the system by using a new license. Please note that the license used to Extend the access has to have an expiry date that is latter than the current one. After extension the current active license will be lost.
This function can be accessed from the Overview page by clicking on the Licenses button. You can see your license data in an informative table, such as how many available license you have, how many licenses you have used, etc.
Important: Licenses renew automatically, if there are unused licenses available at the expiry date.
Delete Expired Licenses
This function can be accessed from the Manage Group menu. You can delete the students from the groups whose licenses are expired with one click.
Export Student Data
This function can be accessed from the overview page by clicking on the Export Students button. Your data will be exported to a tab delimited text file.
Export this Table (Overview Table)
This function can be accessed from the overview page by clicking on the Export this Table button. Your data which can be found on the current Learning Management overview will be exported to a tab delimited text file.
Students sometimes forget their password. The LMS has a built in automated function to speed up the password renewal process. Students have to click on the Forgotten Password link at the login window and they must provide their username in the designated field. By clicking on the Send button the system automatically sends an email to the teacher who can renew the password in the Manage student function.